agric student.jpg

Eeva John, Chair

Eeva works with the Archbishops' Council of the Church of England, based in London.  She researched and co-authored the feasibility study on behalf of the ECSS&S in 2011 together with Ruth Eade. While working at Trinity College Bristol she established a partnership between Trinity and Bishop Gwynne College in Juba. Previously she has worked in Ethiopia and Sudan in higher education as well as in relief and development.

The partnership was registered as a charitable incorporated organisation in June 2014.

Acting Deputy

Vice Chancellor


Revd Dr Joseph Bilal

Joseph is an ordained priest and gained his BA and PhD in the UK. He returned to Juba in 2014 in order to manage the Episcopal University project. He has also been involved in peace and reconciliation negotiations and training in South Sudan.


Archbishop Justin Badi Arama has been the Bishop of Maridi and has played an important role in establishing the Chaima Christian Institute, as well as serving on the board of Bishop Gwynne College in Juba. He was installed as the Primate of South Sudan and Bishop of Juba on 22 April 2018.

Archbishop Justin has taken the lead in establishing and maintaining the vision for creating a Christian foundation university for the province. 

Chancellor of the Episcopal University of South Sudan

Who we are

In the UK: ECSSS

University Partnership

In South Sudan: The Episcopal University

The Governing Council of the Episcopal University (TEU)

of South Sudan

The members of the Governing Council are:

Archbishop Justin Badi Arama, Chair

Prof. Ajang Bior Dout

Prof. Peter Obadayo Tingwa

Dr Abraham Kot Riak

Dr. Tabitha Eliyaba Kenyi

Mrs. Mary Achol Ajith

Rev. Canon Bartholomew Bol Deng

Rev. Emmanuel Lomoro Eluzai Lemi

Mr. David Masua Simon




During 2012-2014 Eeva worked for the Church of England to produce the Common Awards, a new national framework for theological education validated by Durham University.

Ron Hart

Ron is a retired priest in the Church of England with a long association with East Africa, including teaching in Kenya in the 1960s. More recently he has been involved with SOMA and visits South Sudan regularly.  He also served as a university chaplain in the UK for some years.

Martin Horton, Treasurer

Martin is a retired chartered accountant, having worked in the water industry and for the

Audit Commission in the UK. His work took him to East Africa (Tanzania) in the 1970s. More recently he has done some short-term voluntary work for a missionary society in South Sudan in 2009. His time in Africa, and his Christian faith, have given him a great interest in mission work in Africa.

Hanna John

Hanna was born in Khartoum, Sudan. Her background is management consulting across retail, finance, media, pharma and non-profit sectors. She has degrees in theology from King's College London and Cambridge University and in International Development from LSE.

Since its formation in 2013, the Project Management Board - composed of the members shown below - has been overseeing the establishment of The Episcopal University. In August 2018, the Board was disbanded in order to form a new Governing Council for the university. It will be chaired by Archbishop Justin and its membership is being established. 

Eeva John Photo.jpg

Caroline Welby

Caroline is a trained Spiritual Director, has taught on Spiritual Direction courses and has a particular interest in Ignatian Spirituality.


She works alongside her husband particularly within the Anglican Communion having visited every Province with him. She has developed, with others, and leads a programme, Women on the Frontline, aimed at supporting and equipping women leaders in their ministries, especially bishops’ spouses, and seeking to resource them both spiritually and in areas of reconciliation. She has spent time with bishops’ spouses in Juba twice in this capacity.


Photograph Caroline Welby - ECSSSUP.jpg


Anne Tutt

Anne has worked as a Finance Director in both the private, public and charitable sectors. She has travelled extensively in Africa as part of her work and is currently on the Audit Committee of the Department for International Development. 

John Wood

John has recently retired as the Secretary General of the Association of Commonwealth Universities. He is an engineer and holds a number of honorary professorships. He has served on a number of public bodies and has a long involvement in higher education internationally.


Trevor Stubbs

Trevor Stubbs is an author and Anglican priest. He served as an International Consultant for  Bishop Gwynne College from 2012 to 2019, spending a number of years in Juba. 

Stephen Spencer

Stephen Spencer is the Director of Theological Education for the Anglican Communion.He has lived and worked in Zimbabwe and has longstanding links with Tanzania. He visited South Sudan in 2018.